Course catalog

ITIL® Service Transition

Date is confirmed! Exam included

Duration Language Location Price Date and registration
3 days English Vilnius 1275 EUR

The ITIL® courses on this page are offered by OMEC ATO of AXELOS Limited. ITIL® is a registered trademark of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.

The ITIL® Service Transition training is one of the Lifecycle Stream modules. It can be treated as an independent training or as a step on the way to ITIL Expert certification.

The course familiarises participants with details of processes and roles of Service Transition. Practical exercises are an integral part of the training. The training ends with a formal ITIL Intermediate Service Transition examination. The training course is accredited by Peoplecert.


The aim of the training is to enable ITIL Foundation certificate holders for the effective application of good practices in the processes associated with Service Transition. This course will enable participants to:

  • understand the importance of Service Transition in the general context of service management;
  • understand the processes and principles of Service Transition;
  • refer to the technologies of Service Transition;
  • familiarize with the organization of Service Transition;
  • identify Critical Success Factors and identify the main risks related to Service Transition.

Target group

This course is for anyone interested in deepening knowledge of the stage of Service Transition, best practices for improving the management of services and effective methods of improving processes, particularly for:

  • IT Directors,
  • Senior Management,
  • Project Managers,
  • Process owners,
  • IT services owners,
  • testing managers,
  • people responsible for services implementation,
  • all who wish to gain practical knowledge of IT service management and service design.


Candidates wishing to be trained and examined for this qualification must hold either:
  • the ITIL Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management (V3 or 2011) or
  • ITIL V2 Foundation plus Foundation Bridge certificates or
  • ITIL Expert Certificate in Service Management obtained via ITIL V3 Managers Bridge examination

  • Introduction to Service Transition,
  • Service Transition Principles,
  • Service Transition Processes: Planning and Support,
  • Service Transition Processes: Change management,
  • Service Transition Processes: Service Asset and Configuration Management,
  • Service Transition Processes: Release and Deployment Management.
  • Evening Work Debrief
  • Service Transition Processes: Service Validation and Testing,
  • Service Transition Processes: Evaluation,
  • Service Transition Processes: Knowledge management,
  • Managing People through Service Transition.


  • Evening Work Debrief
  • Organizing for Service Transition,
  • Technology Considerations,
  • Implementing and Improving Service Transition,
  • Challenges, Risks and Critical Success Factors,
  • ITIL Intermediate Service Transition examination.

ITIL Service Transition exam includes 8 multiple choice scenario-based questions. Answers are worth 5, 3, 1 or 0 marks. The duration is 90 minutes. Examination is in English. No books and other materials allowed.

Candidates completing an exam in a language that is not their mother tongue are entitled to have extra time to complete the exam and are allowed to use a dictionary. You must achieve 28 or more out of possible 40 marks (70%) to pass this examination.