Course catalog

ITIL® Service Design

Exam included

Duration Language Location Price Date and registration
3 days English - 1275 EUR Request

The ITIL® courses on this page are offered by OMEC ATO of AXELOS Limited. ITIL® is a registered trademark of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.

The ITIL® Service Design training is one of the Lifecycle Stream modules. It can be treated as an independent training or as a step on the way to ITIL Expert certification.

The course familiarises participants with details of processes and roles of Service Design. Practical exercises are an integral part of the training. The training ends with a formal ITIL Intermediate Service Design examination.
The training course is accredited by Peoplecert.


The aim of the training is to show ITIL Foundation certificate holders how to effectively apply best practices in processes related to the Service Design stage.
This course will enable participants to:
  • understand the meaning of Service Design in service management context,
  • understand Service Design processes and principles,
  • organise Service Design effectively,
  • learn Service Design methods,
  • learn how to implement Service Design,
  • analyse risks related to Service Design,
  • define Critical Success Factors related to Service Design.

Target group

This training course is designed for all who require a deeper understanding of best practices to improve service management and effective methods of improving processes, particularly for:

  • IT Directors,
  • Senior Management,
  • Project Managers,
  • Service Designers,
  • IT Architects,
  • people responsible for services implementation,
  • business analysts,
  • all who wish to gain practical knowledge of IT service management and service design.



Candidates wishing to be trained and examined for this qualification must hold either:
  • the ITIL Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management (V3 or 2011) or
  • ITIL V2 Foundation plus Foundation Bridge certificates or
  • ITIL Expert Certificate in Service Management obtained via ITIL V3 Managers Bridge examination

Day 1

  • Introduction to Service Design
  • Service Design Principles
  • Service Design Processes: Design Coordination
  • Service Design Processes: Service Catalogue Management

Day 2

  • Evening Work Debrief
  • Service Design Processes: Service Level Management
  • Service Design Processes: Capacity Management
  • Service Design Processes: Availability Management
  • Service Design Processes: IT Service Continuity Management
  • Service Design Processes: Information Security Management
  • Service Design Processes: Supplier Management
  • Service Design Technology-Related Activities

Day 3

  • Evening Work Debrief
  • Service Design Technology-Related Activities
  • Organizing for Service Design
  • Consideration of Technology
  • Implementation and Improvement of Service Design
  • Challenges, Risks and Critical Success Factors
  • ITIL Intermediate Service Design examination

ITIL Service Design exam includes 8 multiple choice scenario-based questions. Answers are worth 5, 3, 1 or 0 marks. The duration is 90 minutes. Examination is in English. No books and other materials allowed.

Candidates completing an exam in a language that is not their mother tongue are entitled to have extra time to complete the exam and are allowed to use a dictionary. You must achieve 28 or more out of possible 40 marks (70%) to pass this examination.